40 Days of Hope: Lenten Calendar

40 Days of Hope Lent 2022

Lent is a season of reflection and meditation on God's word, to understand the sacrifice that Jesus made on the cross. For many Christians, Lent is also a time to practice prayer, fasting (or sacrificing or restraining from specific foods and habits), and almsgiving.

We want to help our supporters connect more meaningfully with the rhythms and practices of our faith, to understand what it means to love and give in service of others. So we created this new 40 Days of Hope Lenten calendar, filled with simple and creative activities that encourage you to Pray, Serve, and Give.

We hope you follow, share, and remember this calendar as a way to love our community well!

Plus: Follow us on Instagram and use #HFNY40DaysofHope to tell us on how you're engaging with our calendar!


MARCH | APRIL

 

MARCH

DAY

ACTION

 Ash Wednesday  Spend 5 minutes praying for your neighborhood
 Thursday, March 3

 Volunteer to serve meals with one of our   affiliates hfny.org/volunteer

 Friday, March 4  Reflect on biblical justice in this video with our affiliates
 Saturday, March 5   Skip your morning coffee and give $5 to HFNY   instead hfny.org/donate
 Sunday, March 6  Meditate on the words shared during church service
 Monday, March 7   Check in on a friend who may be struggling during this season
 Tuesday, March 8  Pray with Josiah/City Relief for 'hope beyond understanding'
 Wednesday, March 9  Learn about urgent needs in our city. Sign up for the weekly   email hfny.org/getconnected
 Thursday, March 10  Reflect on the words of Colossians 3:1-14 and what it means   for your life
 Friday, March 11  Pray for our homeless and hungry neighbors
 Saturday, March 12  Consider "saving" on takeout orders for one week and   "spending" the amount with HFNY hfny.org/donate
 Sunday, March 13  Meditate on the words shared during church service
 Monday, March 14  Learn the name of a homeless neighbor in your community   and pray for them
 Tuesday, March 15  Watch this Story of Hope (James from The Father’s Heart)
 Wednesday, March 16  Sign up to serve at Don't Walk By on Saturday, March 26   hfny.org/dwb
 Thursday, March 17  Print 3 copies of the HFNY resource card and look for   opportunities to hand them out hfny.org/resourcecard
 Friday, March 18  Pray for our 14 church partners to continue loving our   neighbors in need
 Saturday, March 19  Give up one month of streaming and dedicate the amount to   HFNY hfny.org/donate
 Sunday, March 20  Meditate on the words shared during church service
 Monday, March 21  Look through our affiliate partners list to learn about a new   one! hfny.org/affiliates
 Tuesday, March 22  Pray with Maria/St. Paul’s House about serving our   marginalized neighbors
 Wednesday, March 23  Sign up to serve at Don't Walk By on Saturday, April 2   hfny.org/dwb
 Thursday, March 24  Introduce our monthly prayer guide to your community group   hfny.org/pray
 Friday, March 25  Reflect on biblical hope with our affiliates in this video
 Saturday, March 26  Pray for Don't Walk By's first Saturday!
 Sunday, March 27  Meditate on the words shared during church service
 Monday, March 28  Volunteer with a friend or family member who you haven't   seen in awhile hfny.org/volunteer
 Tuesday, March 29  Write a simple prayer asking God to help our city and share it   on social media.
 Wednesday, March 30  Sign up to serve at Don't Walk By on Saturday, April 9   hfny.org/dwb
 Thursday, March 31  Practice almsgiving and join The Hope Exchange to provide   for neighbors in need hfny.org/hopeexchange

 

APRIL

DAY

ACTION

 Friday, April 1  Celebrate National Volunteer Month by serving with your CG   in April! hfny.org/volunteer
 Saturday, April 2  Pray for Don't Walk By's second Saturday!
 Sunday, April 3  Meditate on the words shared during church service
 Monday, April 4  Watch this Story of Hope (Nadia from The Open Door)
 Tuesday, April 5

 HFNY celebrates its 30th anniversary this month! Give $30   for our 30th! hfny.org/donate

 Wednesday, April 6  Connect with individuals who have disabilities through virtual   prayers hfny.org/doforone
 Thursday, April 7  Grab coffee with a friend and share what needs you see in     our city
 Friday, April 8  Read why Melissa enjoyed serving at Gifted Hands
 Saturday, April 9  Pray for Don't Walk By's final Saturday!
Holy Week
 Palm Sunday (April 10)  Hosanna! Meditate on the words shared during church       service. Say a Palm Sunday prayer.
 Holy Monday  Commit to serving with and praying for one Rescue Alliance   organization this year hfny.org/rescuealliance
 Holy Tuesday  Prepare your hearts for giving sacrificially during Easter   Sunday offering hfny.org/donate
 Holy Wednesday  Serve our city in a different way by volunteering   virtually hfny.org/virtualvolunteer
 Maundy Thursday  Read John 13:1-17. What does it mean to wash each other's   feet? Is there someone in your life who you could help, but     are afraid to?
 Good Friday  Read this prayer and devotional from Sarah Bourns Crosby   (Pastor of Formation at Hope Midtown)
 Holy Saturday  Reflect on what you have learned during Lent. Write down 3   ways you have grown, or 3 things you have learned during this   Lenten season.
 Easter Sunday (April 17)

 He is risen! Pray for New Yorkers in need today.


Watch more Easter Stories of Hope and consider giving sacrificially for Easter to support

our affiliates serving neighbors in need! hfny.org/easter